技术控

今日:98| 主题:49390
收藏本版 (1)
最新软件应用技术尽在掌握

[其他] My Experience Running Development At A Startup

[复制链接]
∝散一场暖阳 发表于 2016-10-6 23:12:30
132 4

立即注册CoLaBug.com会员,免费获得投稿人的专业资料,享用更多功能,玩转个人品牌!

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
In 2015, I joined a startup called Landdox. I was the first employee. In fact, I joined Landdox before it became a company officially. Since then, the application has grown from an idea designed in Sketch by the founder to a fruitful large application with a customer base.
  It has been an intense nearly 2 years and I wanted to share a few things I’ve learned. Some that have hit me over the nose and others that pleasantly surprised me as well.
  My role and the company

Before I get into the learnings, let me just review my role at the company as well as what we do. I’m a Senior Engineer. Fancy title aside, I’m responsible for the back-end, the front-end, the DevOps, hiring, and well, a slew of other things. I like to call myself the “CTO-in-training” (I don’t, but it seems fitting to the narrative :)). I’m that “wearing many hats” developer that was able to build the first prototype of the app that “beta” customers were able to test out. A few months into the work, we were able to hire another developer so my role slowly evolved to include code reviews, developer experience, mentoring, and other similar tasks.
  Today, I tend to handle what I have the most experience with: new feature development for complicated features, debugging stubborn bugs, and DevOps. That’s not to say that I get to handle all of it (my co-worker Julien gets to play around with maps all day, something I know nearly nothing about). I hope that gives you an insight into what I do.
  As far as the company, we’re a Land Document Management system. To put it shortly (and avoid NDA crap), imagine a Dropbox-like app that also helps you track the land you actually own and the contracts you’ve signed that give you rights to the land as an energy company.
  Top X Things I’ve Learned