技术控

今日:75| 主题:49270
收藏本版 (1)
最新软件应用技术尽在掌握

[其他] Why I'm a React Native Developer: A Response to Ariel Elkin

[复制链接]
红尘梵音 发表于 2016-10-2 05:30:48
121 3

立即注册CoLaBug.com会员,免费获得投稿人的专业资料,享用更多功能,玩转个人品牌!

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
Most of my experience is in native Android and iOS mobile development. Although I’ve typically been skeptical of cross-platform development tools for mobile, I think that react native is really neat. In fact, I’m willing to bet that its the future of mobile development.
  I disagree with Ariel Elkin, who recently wrote    an excellent articlein which he explains why he thinks using react native is a bad idea. While several good points were made, I think that ultimately the argument he puts forth is lacking. In this article, I try to say where I think Ariel goes wrong in his arguments against react native.  
  React Native’s licensing isn’t Scary

In the section (cleverly) titled “Patently Daunting,” Ariel argues that by using React Native,
  …I’m jeopardising…both the platform my app depends on as well as my intellectual property.
  He then says that:
  iOS apps enter the App Store entirely at Apple’s discretion. I don’t want to multiply that uneasy feeling by two.
  There’s    a comment on HNthat pretty well addresses this concern:  
    …if you’re not using React you’re probably already using open source software. And in the JS ecosystem that probably means you’re using software under MIT, BSD and ISC licenses [licensed used by projects like jQuery, Angular, and Ember], which have no patent provisions whatsoever.
    In other words: unless you have an explicit patent grant, you’re at risk of being sued by the owners of whatever patents you happen to be infringing upon. The only difference is that you’re entirely reliant upon the goodwill of the patent owners while React explicitly shields you unless you sue Facebook over patents.